Showing posts with label Conley. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Conley. Show all posts

Monday, October 14, 2019

Garment Care in Sandusky


The 1896 Sandusky City Directory lists a variety of businesses which advertised services that helped area residents maintain their clothing. While we not know the specifics of what types of renovation were offered, four individuals were listed as "Clothing Renovators": John Conley, Louis Dietz, John M. Fox, and Mrs. Otto Peter.  Businesses which offered to dye clothing in 1896 were: Burt Moskovits, C. F. Rathke, and Waibel & Knoebel. Three laundries appeared in the 1896 City Directory: Beilstein & Pfanner, Henny Frank, and Till & Wagner. Ten merchant tailors and dozens of dressmakers were also included in the 1896 Sandusky City Directory.

By 1919, C.A. Rathke had expanded his business to a dry cleaning and dyeing works. Mr. Rathke also made suits to order. Mr. Rathke was a tailor in Sandusky for many years.


In 1906 Henry Beilstein and Philip Pfanner were the proprietors of the Beilstein Steam Laundry at 630 Market Street. In later years, there were Dry Cleaning establishments owned separately by the Beilstein and Pfanner families.


The people in the photograph below are not identified, but notes on the back of the photo state that some of the last names of the people pictured are: McLaughlin, Ryan, McCann, and Conley. The Sandusky Dyeing and Cleaning Works was on East Park Street in the 1890s.



By the 1950’s, there were several dry cleaners in Sandusky. The Sun Way Dry Cleaners offered “One Hour Martinizing” at its East Market Street location in the Hubbard block.


There were many more laundries and dry cleaners in Sandusky for which we do not have photographs. The Mahala Steam Laundry operated in Sandusky for many years, with various owners and locations. Visit the Archives Research Center of the Sandusky Library to view historical city directories. The historical city and county directories will provide information about the citizens and the businesses of Sandusky and Erie County dating back to the nineteenth century.

Monday, June 12, 2017

Eighth Grade Graduates of Saints Peter and Paul School, 1922


According to an article in the June 13, 1922 issue of the Sandusky Register, a large crowd attended the graduation exercises of Saints Peter and Paul School, which was held in Sidley Hall on June 12, 1922. Father William F. Murphy gave an eloquent address at the graduation ceremony. John McCrystal gave the valedictory address, and Lenore McGory gave the salutatory address. The graduates stood on the stage in front of a trellised arch which was decorated with roses. The evening’s entertainment included skits, songs, and drills performed by elementary school students. 

The names of the graduates were: John E. Gosser, Richard Hiltz, Norbert Keeley, Richard Ludwig, Louis Lindsley, John F. McCrystal, Russell Payne, Gilbert Steinen, Joseph Shaw, John P. Ryan, John Walsh, Mildred Conley, Lucille Casaver, Thelma Falk, Lucille Grathwol, Agnes H. Miller, Lenore McGory, Dorothy McNulty, and Thelma Wonder. Though there were eleven young men and eight young ladies in the class, at the time this picture was taken, only ten of the boys were present. 


Father William F. Murphy served the parish of Saints Peter and Paul for thirty-eight years, having begun his long career in Sandusky in September of 1905. He saw the congregation through two world wars and the Great Depression, and was well respected as a community leader by local residents from all walks of life and religious denominations. 

Sunday, March 08, 2015

Theatrical Performance at Sidley Memorial Hall


In this image we see the cast from a play performed by members of the parish Dramatic Club in Sidley Memorial Hall, the auditorium of Saints Peter and Paul School, in the 1910s. From left to right are: Walter McGory, Cecelia Canning, Norm Gagen, Bernard McGory, Mrs. Leo Butler, Barney Gagen, Mr. Printy, Helen Esch, William Willmouth, Ralph J. Conley and Alica Hering. 

Sidley Memorial Hall was named in honor of Father R.A. Sidley, who was the pastor of Saints Peter and Paul Church in Sandusky from 1871 until just before his death in 1904. Father Sidley oversaw the building of the church which still stands today at the southeast corner of Columbus Avenue and Jefferson Street. Father Sidley left a bequest of over $13,000 for the building of a new school, which was completed in 1907. Major alterations were made to the school building in 1950, and in 1955 a large addition was made to the school. Though Father Sidley did not live to see the school completed, he had dreamed of a large school and auditorium to serve the families of his parish.



In 1916 two members of the dramatic club were married. Alicia Hering became Mrs. Ralph J. Conley. In the 1910s, the Dramatic Club of Saints Peter and Paul Church put on many plays at Sidley Memorial Hall. In the early 1930s, the Catholic Players met bi-monthly at the auditorium of Saints Peter and Paul Church, and put on plays throughout the year. The Catholic Players were just one of several amateur theatrical groups in the area. The group was part of a larger organization known as the Northwestern Ohio Little Theater Association. To read more about the rich history of Saints Peter and Paul Church, visit the Sandusky Library. The title Saints Peter and Paul Church: A Church and Its People chronicles the 125 years of the church’s history, from 1866 to 1991. Several other church histories are also available at Sandusky Library.

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Sandusky Dyeing and Cleaning Works



An article in the March 19, 1895 issue of the Sandusky Register reported that J.R. Conley opened a dye and cleaning works on East Park Street in Sandusky. Mr. Conley and several of his employees and family members are pictured above. When you look closely at some of the employees, you can see a variety of irons that were used in the clothing cleaning and renovating business.


In the 1896 Sandusky City Directory, there were four listings for “clothing renovators.” They included John R. Conley, Louis Dietz, John M. Fox, and Mrs.Otto Peter.