Showing posts with label Zollinger. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Zollinger. Show all posts

Friday, June 24, 2022

John C. Zollinger, Civil War Veteran, Businessman, Humanitarian


According to the October 28, 1924 issue of the Sandusky Register, John C. Zollinger was one of the oldest native born Sandusky residents at the time of his death at age 82 in 1924. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Zollinger, both natives of Germany. 

As a young man, he worked in the dry goods business, first for Everett Cooke and Company, and later for C.E. and G.A. Cooke. When the Civil War broke out, Mr. Zollinger enlisted in Company G of the 65th Ohio Volunteer Infantry. During the war, he took part in many engagements, including battles at Shiloh, Perryville, Stone River, Missionary Ridge, as well as the siege of Atlanta. After the war’s end, Mr. Zollinger was reenlisted and served as an officer with a regiment that was sent to Texas. Hewson Peeke’s A Standard History of Erie County, Ohio stated that he achieved his commission as captain; the 1890 Census of United States Union Veterans lists his highest rank as Full Quartermaster. 

After the war, in September 1866, he married Paulina Lerch. 

Throughout his lifetime, Mr. Zollinger had many different occupations and civic interests. In 1880, the U.S. Census listed him as a merchant. Later he was in a partnership with Frederick Ohlemacher in the lime business. In the late 1890s, he was in the fish business with Louis Adolph. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Zollinger were very active in the Erie County Humane Society. A resolution from the Erie County Humane Society, which appeared in the Sandusky Star Journal of January 22, 1925, read in part, about Mr. Zollinger, “Nothing stirred him so deeply as cruelty to either to persons or animals, and he was ever ready to help protect the defenseless and helpless. Mr. and Mrs. Zollinger not only devoted much of their lives to the work of the society, but gave in addition thereto thousands of dollars for its support, although they were in very moderate circumstances.” 

For several years, Mr. Zollinger served as president of the Castalia Trout Club. In 1893, he presented 44 adult brook trout from the Castalia Trout Club to J.J. Stranahan, superintendent of the United States Fish Commission at the Put in Bay station, for the purpose of being placed in the Fish and Fisheries Exhibit at the World’s Columbian Exposition in Chicago. 

In 1875, he was the master of the Science Lodge, No. 50, F.and A.M. When the Science Lodge celebrated its centennial, John C. Zollinger was the oldest living past master, and he gave reminiscences at the celebration.

Sandusky Star Journal, October 18, 1919

On October 26, 1924, John C. Zollinger died after a lengthy illness. The Sandusky Register published a lengthy obituary in the October 28, 1924 issue. He was survived three sisters and two brothers. Mrs. Paulina (Lerch) Zollinger had passed away in 1904. Funeral services for Mr. Zollinger were held at the Masonic Temple in Sandusky, and burial was in Oakland Cemetery.

Sunday, March 20, 2022

Prominent Sanduskians

The image below is of a group of prominent Sandusky men, taken sometime between 1910 and 1920. The picture was anonymously mailed to the Sandusky Register and then was forwarded to Wilbert Ohlemacher, who wrote The Elderlies column for the Register for several years.

Back row: Fred Emmons, Mr. H. Squire, C. Webb Sadler, Dr. J.T. Haynes, F. P. Zollinger, Dr. J.F. Douglas, Mr. Feick, William Seitz, Dr. C. B. Bliss, Sidney Frohman, unknown, and Mr. Bruce

Front row: Mr. Feick, C.B. Lockwood, William Sumser, Lawrence Morton, T. T. Morton

 

Fred Emmons was the secretary and assistant treasurer of the Hinde and Dauch Paper Company; Mr. H. Squire owned Squire Electric Company; C. Webb Sadler was the father of city manager Webb Sadler; Dr. J. T. Haynes was the physician at the Ohio Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Home; F. P. Zollinger was the president of the Third National Bank; Dr. J.F. Douglas had a dental office on Columbus Avenue for many years; Mr. Feick was a local builder; William Seitz was a merchant tailor, Dr. C.B. Bliss was an ophthalmologist; and Sidney Frohman was the president and general manger of the Hinde and Dauch Paper Company. In the front row was another member of the Feick family of builders. C. B. Lockwood and William Sumser were associated with the Standard Box Company; Lawrence Morton was the sales manager of the Threading Machine Company; and T. T. Morgan was the treasurer and general manager of the Brown Clutch Company.


We do not know the occasion for this gathering, but you can read Mr. Ohlemacher’s newspaper article about this picture in the March 27, 1983 issue of the Sandusky Register, available on microfilm at the Sandusky Archives Research Center, or online via the Sandusky Library's website.

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

The Sandusky Automobile Company



In 1902, the Sandusky Automobile Company was incorporated with James J. Hinde as President; Edward J. Cable, Secretary; F.P. Zollinger, Treasurer; and J. S. Bennett, Vice President. The factory was located on the west side of Sandusky, on Camp Street, and  manufactured an automobile called the Sandusky.



The Sandusky Automobile Company re-organized in 1904, and a new line of automobile called the Courier was manufactured. The Brown family is pictured below in a “Courier” automobile in 1904.


Within a year of its reorganization the Sandusky Automobile Company went bankrupt. The building was later used by the Brown Clutch Company for several years.

J. J. Hinde was associated with other successful businesses. He was the senior partner in the Hinde and Dauch Paper Company until 1910.  He is said to have been the man who introduced the tractor to Henry Ford. His obituary in 1931 stated that he was a “farmer, industrialist, and globe trotter.” He was long considered a booster of the Sandusky community.

The Fall 1980 issue of the Northwest Ohio Quarterly, available at the Archives Research Center of the Sandusky Library, features the Sandusky Automobile Company in its lead article by John L. Butler. The second volume of From the Widow's Walk by Helen Hansen and Virginia Steinemann also contains an article about Sandusky’s early automobiles.

Thursday, September 05, 2013

The Early Years of the Erie County Humane Society


According to Hewson Peeke’s book A Standard History of Erie County, Ohio, the Erie County Humane Society was organized in 1882, with George Marsh as president. The directors were: I.F. Mack, A.E. Merrill, J.C. Hauser, and John C. Zollinger. By 1889, Albert E. Merrill was serving as president of the Erie County Humane Society. Albert E. Merrill was a physician and a lawyer, and he served as Erie County Probate Judge from 1878 to 1890.


A lengthy description of the Erie County Humane Society was featured in an article in the June 1, 1896 issue of the Sandusky Daily Register. The article reported that, “The general objects of the society are to prevent cruelty to children and rescue them from vicious influences and remedy their condition, and to prevent cruelty to animals.” The Erie County Humane Society had been chartered under the law of the state of Ohio, and was authorized not only to prevent cruelty to children, but also to punish those who are guilty of such cruelty or neglect. The article continued, “The Humane Society calls upon teachers in the public schools to inculcate humane sentiment among the children. It urges clergymen of all denominations to advocate kindness to animals. It urges newspapers to keep before their readers the importance of humane treatment of both children and animals.” The society hoped to extend its membership into all portions of Erie County. Some of the inhumane conditions that the Humane Society hoped to prevent included: dog fights, cock fights, overloading horse cars, mutilation and underfeeding of animals, driving disabled animals, and tying the legs of calves or sheep in wagons to market. According to the February 16, 1911 issue of the Sandusky Star Journal, a meeting of the Erie County Humane Society had recently met at Carnegie Hall at the Sandusky Library.




Discussed at the meeting was the situation in which several men left their horses on the street unattended for hours, while they frequented saloons. Letters of warning were issued to the offending parties. Human officer Mrs. Fannie Everett presented a total of forty-two cases of cruelty to children or animals in her quarterly report. While we do not have extensive historical documents related to the Erie County Humane Society, it is clear that Erie County leaders have been concerned with the well-being of animals (and in its early days, of children), for many decades. To read the complete articles mentioned in this post, visit the Sandusky Library Archives Research Center, where past issues of Sandusky newspapers are available on microfilm.