Showing posts with label Plum Brook Country Club. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Plum Brook Country Club. Show all posts

Monday, December 18, 2023

A Photo of Family and Friends, and the Birth of Plum Brook Country Club.


In this photographic postcard Elizabeth Marsh and Florence Steinemann are gazing at Edward H. Marsh. Also looking at Mr. Marsh are George C. Steinemann and Lea Marsh. Edward H. Marsh worked with his father in the plaster business. He was a personal friend of William Howard Taft, with whom he attended school. Edward H. Marsh lost his wife Carrie at a young age, and he was left with two very young children to raise.

Lea Marsh was the son of Edward H. Marsh; he married Elizabeth D.G. Moss, the daughter of banker Charles H. Moss. Lea’s good friend was George C. Steinemann, a prominent Sandusky attorney. George was married to Florence Cable, who was the granddaughter of Sandusky businessman Frank Cable.

According to an article in the March 30, 2014 issue of the Sandusky Register, in 1913 Lea Marsh and George C. Steinemann, along with Watson H. Butler, sent out a letter, looking for people to invest in a golf course, to be located on Hayes Avenue and Strub Road, on property owned by August Pfaff. The “Sandusky Golf Club,” sometimes known as the “Auto County Club” was incorporated in 1914. By 1915, land was purchased off Galloway Road, and eventually became the golf course for the Plum Brook Country Club.

By 1930, Lea and Elizabeth Moss had moved to Old Lyme, Connecticut. When George C. Steinemann passed away in 1932, Mr. and Mrs. Lea Marsh traveled back to Ohio for his funeral, where Lea Marsh served as a pallbearer.

Monday, May 16, 2011

The USO in Sandusky

In September, 1942, a U.S.O. Service Center was opened in the rear portion of the Lake Shore Coach station at 129 Columbus Avenue. Having started in 1941, the primary mission of the United Service Organization was giving social support to America’s troops. In contrast to the regimented life of military life, the U.S.O. strived to create a warm homelike atmosphere.
An article which appeared in the May 15, 1943 issue of the Sandusky Register Star News stated that the Sandusky USO Center provided a spot for relaxation for thousands of men in uniform who found themselves temporarily in the Sandusky area. The article continued, “It has given them little attentions and helped out in the practical things of everyday life that beset a stranger; and it has done this in a homey, kindly atmosphere and with warmth of spirit that has eased the ache of homesickness and loneliness in the hearts of many.” Cookies and fruit were provided through the generosity of local organizations. Dances and parties were held both at the Sandusky U.S.O. and at Camp Perry. Junior hostesses of the U.S.O. visited men who were in the hospital at the Erie Proving Ground, playing cards and games with them as they convalesced.

A photograph was taken at the last party sponsored by the Erie County U.S.O., held at the Plum Brook Country Club.

The Sandusky U.S.O. Center closed in December of 1945 with a “fine service record,” according to an article in the December 1, 1945 issue of the Sandusky Register Star News.