Showing posts with label Saints Peter and Paul Roman Catholic Church. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Saints Peter and Paul Roman Catholic Church. Show all posts

Monday, July 10, 2023

Enrico and Olimpia Ambrusini, Victims of the 1918 Influenza Epidemic


Enrico and Olimpia Ambrusini both died from influenza in October of 1918, when the disease spread across the United States and many other parts of the world. Their young son Tulio had died in 1916, in a tragic drowning incident. In 1918, four Ambrusini children were left as orphans: Theresa, Erma, Eda and Louis.

In 1907 Olimpia Filipinni and Enrico Ambrusini, both natives of Italy, were married at Sts. Peter and Paul Church in Sandusky, on the very same day that Olimpia’s sister Filomena Filipinni married Lazzaro Uguccoini. Olimpia and Filomena were the daughters of Enrico Filippini and his wife Maria.

By the time of the 1910 United States Census, three related families were all living on Market Street. Enrico Flippini and his family were at 426 Market Street. Filomena Uguccioni and her husband Lazzaro Uguccioni, and their daughter Rosa lived at 430 Market Street. Enrico (here listed as Federico) and his wife Olimpia resided at 432 Market Street. (These house numbers changed in 1915, when the city of Sandusky re-numbered the city streets.)

Sadly, Enrico Ambrusini died at the emergency hospital on Adams Street on October 19, 1918. Olimpia Ambrusini died on October 20, 1918, leaving behind four young children.

An article on the front page of the Sandusky Register of October 21, 1918 told of the rapidly rising numbers of cases of influenza in Sandusky at that time:


Theresa Ambrusini was adopted by the Battisti family in Sandusky. She lived a long life and died in Louisville, Kentucky at the age of 91. Her married name was Theresa Moremen. Erma Ambrusini marred Zeno Adante. She lived most of her life in Michigan, but passed away in California in 1997, at the age of 87. Louis Ambrusini, later known as Louis Ambrosine, lived in the Dearborn, Michigan area. He repaired and sold juke boxes, and he retired in Florida. A reasonable search did not find information about Eda/Ida Ambrusini.

The 1918 influenza epidemic brought tragedy to many. The Ambrusini family hoped to find a better life in the United States. They were active in the local Catholic Church, and had close relationships with members of their large extended family. Enrico and Olimpia Ambrusini were buried at St. Joseph’s Cemetery in Sandusky, Ohio.

Note: The spellings of both first and last names of members of the Filippini and Ambrusini families vary widely, depending on the record.

Monday, June 17, 2019

June is a Popular Month for Weddings



             
An article appearing in the June 25, 1935 issue of the Sandusky Register reported that 41 marriage licenses had been issued in that month. The highest number of marriage licenses issued in Erie County in the month of June was in 1929, when a record of 55 marriage licenses had been issued. 

Several wedding related items are housed at the Follett House Museum and the Sandusky Library Archives Research Center.  Below is an undated picture which shows the interior of Saints Peter and Paul Catholic Church during a wedding ceremony.
   

This bride had her picture taken at the former Sandusky Business Women’s Club. Though we do not know the name of the bride, the photograph was taken by Torow Studio.
 
         
The wedding of Arthur Moosbrugger and Lucille Holtz also took place in 1938, at St. Mary’s Church.
    


Laura Elizabeth Cooke was the daughter of Pitt Cooke and Mary Townsend Cooke. Laura is pictured below in her wedding dress on December 8, 1886. Laura’s groom, Franklin S. Barker, was a photographer in business with Mr. W. A. Bishop at the time of his wedding.



In 1891, Sakie Prout married Charles Merz. Dr. Charles Merz was a physician in Sandusky, as well as an expert on Masonic history. Dr. Merz’s best man was George Prout, and Sakie’s maid of honor was Mary Bookwalter Prout.




Visit the Sandusky Library Archives Research Center to view these and many more historical photographs.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Father William F. Murphy


Father William F. Murphy was appointed Pastor of Sts. Peter and Paul Church on September 5, 1905, the second priest to serve this parish. He succeeded Father R.A. Sidley. Father Murphy oversaw the building of a school for the parish, partially funded by a bequest from Father Sidley. The new school and Sidley Memorial Hall was dedicated in 1907. Following two fires which damaged Sts. Peter and Paul Church, Father Murphy led the parish in seeing that the church was repaired and restored. With the help of a generous gift from Sandusky native Sister Mary Aloysius, the church installed a communion railing made from Italian marble, and two new side altars.


During his thirty-eight years at Sts. Peter and Paul, Father Murphy officiated at hundreds of weddings, baptisms, funerals, and sacred holiday masses. On July 14, 1915, Father Murphy officiated at the wedding of Notre Dame legendary coach Knute Rockne to Bonnie Skiles. The pair had met while they were employed at Cedar Point.


On the occasion of Rev. William F. Murphy’s Golden Jubilee, in which he celebrated fifty years in the priesthood, the whole community gathered to honor him. A mass was held at Sts. Peter and Paul Church on July 4, 1934, with the Most Reverend Kal J. Alter, D.D. presiding.


Catholic leaders all across Ohio attended the Golden Jubilee celebration. On July 5, 1934, a civic reception for Father Murphy was held at Jackson Junior High, and was open to the public. Speakers included Judge Edmond Savord, Mr. J. J. Carroll, president of the G & C Foundry, Congressman W. L. Fiesinger, Attorney John F. McCrystal, Sr., Mr. F. J. Prout, Superintendent of Sandusky Schools, Major C.B. Wilcox, President of the Sandusky Chamber of Commerce, as well as Rev. William Zierolf from St. Mary’s Church and Rev. Thomas Hughes from Trinity Methodist Church. Father Murphy was respected as a community leader by residents of all walks of life and religious denominations. 

On February 24, 1942, Father William F. Murphy died at the age of 84. Sandusky City Manager A.J. Lauber  stated  in an article in the February 24, 1942 issue of the Sandusky Register Star News that, “The death of Monsignor William F. Murphy is a severe loss to our community. He was always eager to give his time and energy to those things which make for a better city in which to live and work. His kindly spirit, his wise counsel and his marvelous personality has endeared him to every person in Sandusky.” Father Murphy’s funeral was widely attended, and he was buried at St. John’s Cemetery in Cleveland, Ohio. 

Father William F. Murphy saw his congregation through the Great Depression, World War I, and the early years of World War II. His leadership, integrity and compassion were appreciated by  his church members and the entire community.

Sunday, March 08, 2015

Theatrical Performance at Sidley Memorial Hall


In this image we see the cast from a play performed by members of the parish Dramatic Club in Sidley Memorial Hall, the auditorium of Saints Peter and Paul School, in the 1910s. From left to right are: Walter McGory, Cecelia Canning, Norm Gagen, Bernard McGory, Mrs. Leo Butler, Barney Gagen, Mr. Printy, Helen Esch, William Willmouth, Ralph J. Conley and Alica Hering. 

Sidley Memorial Hall was named in honor of Father R.A. Sidley, who was the pastor of Saints Peter and Paul Church in Sandusky from 1871 until just before his death in 1904. Father Sidley oversaw the building of the church which still stands today at the southeast corner of Columbus Avenue and Jefferson Street. Father Sidley left a bequest of over $13,000 for the building of a new school, which was completed in 1907. Major alterations were made to the school building in 1950, and in 1955 a large addition was made to the school. Though Father Sidley did not live to see the school completed, he had dreamed of a large school and auditorium to serve the families of his parish.



In 1916 two members of the dramatic club were married. Alicia Hering became Mrs. Ralph J. Conley. In the 1910s, the Dramatic Club of Saints Peter and Paul Church put on many plays at Sidley Memorial Hall. In the early 1930s, the Catholic Players met bi-monthly at the auditorium of Saints Peter and Paul Church, and put on plays throughout the year. The Catholic Players were just one of several amateur theatrical groups in the area. The group was part of a larger organization known as the Northwestern Ohio Little Theater Association. To read more about the rich history of Saints Peter and Paul Church, visit the Sandusky Library. The title Saints Peter and Paul Church: A Church and Its People chronicles the 125 years of the church’s history, from 1866 to 1991. Several other church histories are also available at Sandusky Library.

Wednesday, October 01, 2008

The Irish in Erie County

During the first half of the nineteenth century thousands of Irish emigrated to the United States. The potato famine of 1845 left devastating conditions in Ireland. The Irish immigrants had hopes of starting a new life in the United States. Often the only jobs available were among the least desirable. As a result many Irish born workers built the canals and railways of America and worked in dangerous mines. Besides working difficult jobs, the Irish often faced discrimination. They encountered signs that said “HELP WANTED – NO IRISH NEED APPLY.” As a result the Irish found solace in churches and community organizations. Eventually the Irish were assimilated into American culture, along with thousands of other immigrants from many other countries. Today Americans of Irish descent are still known for their humor, love of family, and their sometimes feisty personalities. St. Patrick’s Day has been celebrated in America since 1737.

One of the earliest Irish immigrants in Erie County was John Beatty, who was one of largest land owners of the Firelands. John Beatty led a group of fourteen families from Connecticut to Perkins Township in 1814. He was Mayor of Sandusky from 1833 to 1836. His brother-in-law was Rev. William Gurley, an early Methodist minister was licensed to preach by John Wesley, the “father of Methodism.”

Father R. A. Sidley (below) was born in Ireland in 1828. He was the priest of Sts. Peter and Paul Church in Sandusky from 1863 until 1871. Father Sidley oversaw the building of the church which still stands today at the southeast corner of Columbus Avenue and Jefferson Street. Father Sidley left a bequest of over $13,000 for the building of a new school, which was completed in 1907. The auditorium of the new school was named “Sidley Memorial Hall” in honor of Father Sidley. For many years Sidley Hall was used for concerts, commencements, as well as amateur and professional dramatic productions.

Leonard Johnson, another local Irish immigrant, bought Bull’s Island in 1852. The name of the island was later changed to Johnson’s Island. During the Civil War there was a Prisoner of War Camp located on Johnson’s Island.
Wilson “Slip” McLaughlin, who was Chief of the Sandusky Fire Department for many years, was the grandson of Irish immigrant, Michael McLaughlin. “Slip” is in the center of the group pictured below at the fire station located at the corner of Meigs Street and Sycamore Line. Mr. McLaughlin’s obituary in the November 24, 1984 stated that he was a “champion of the underprivileged and public” and a public servant for fifty years.
Descendants of Irish immigrants to Sandusky and Erie County still live and work in Sandusky today. A walk through St. Joseph’s Cemetery will bring to mind many of those Irish Americans who have gone before us.