Two of Sandusky's most prominent early lawyers, F.D. Parish and E.B. Sadler were partners in a legal office in Sandusky, Ohio.
Hewson Peeke wrote in A Standard History
of Erie County, Ohio (Lewis Publishing Company, 1916), that F.D. Parish was
the second lawyer in Erie County, following Eleutheros Cooke. In 1836 F.D. Parish went into a legal partnership with
E.B. Sadler. Their office was on Public Square in Sandusky, near the old
Courthouse, often known as the Academy because it once served as a school.
It appears that F.D. Parish was the senior partner,
because his name always appeared first in the listing.
The partnership continued
until 1847, when Mr. Sadler left to take the position of presiding judge of the Court of Common Pleas of the 13th
Judicial Circuit, which then included the counties of Erie, Huron, Sandusky,
Ottawa, Lucas, Wood and Henry. On February 15, 1847, the partnership between
F.D. Parish and E.B. Sadler was dissolved.
A copy of the dissolution notice is found in the historical files of the
Sandusky Library Archives Research Center. Though the partnership ended, it
appears that E.B. Sadler was trying to tie up loose ends. In the letter below
from Mr. Sadler to a “Brother Norman,” E.B. Sadler requested that fees owed in
some recent legal matters were to be paid.
F.D.
Parish went to become well known as an abolitionist who took an active part in
the Underground Railroad. E.B. Sadler served as Mayor of Sandusky from 1844 to
1845.



















Under Mr. Curran’s leadership, the “Sandusky Training School” was founded in 1874. New teachers were mentored by more experienced teachers to prepare them for their profession. Miss Mary Alice Chenoweth was the lead teacher at the training school. Mary Alice later changed her name to
Charles Courtney Curran painted a portrait of his father, which is also on display at the Follett House Museum. Local author Patty Pascoe wrote about both U. T. Curran and Charles Courtney Curran in the book, Elected to Serve, available from the Sandusky Library.


